Tasmanian Government Board Diversity Governance Scholarships 2018

Notice of Motion

November 2018

Hon Jacquie Petrusma [Minister for Women] to move – That the House:-

  • Notes the Board Diversity Governance Scholarship Program (the Program) is an initiative under the Tasmanian Government Women on Boards Strategy 2015-2020 (the Strategy);

  • Further notes that the Strategy aims to address gender imbalance on government boards and committees, with a target of 50 percent female representation by 2020;
  • Acknowledges the Tasmanian Government’s funding of $200,000 over four years for scholarships for women to undertake governance training through courses delivered by the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD);
  • Notes that since its launch in 2015, 75 scholarships have now been awarded through the Program. This year, the Program provided 17 scholarships for the Foundations of Directorship course, which includes a tailored six month program of activities and events;
  • Notes that this year’s scholarships have been awarded to Tasmanian women who are emerging leaders and women who face the most barriers to professional development opportunities, leadership roles, board and committee appointments;
  • Further notes that this year recipients come from a range of diverse backgrounds such as migrant or refugee, women living with disability and women working in STEMM areas; and
  • Congratulates the 17 successful scholarship recipients: Zenobia Allie, Rebecca Astell, Mary Bosco, Emily Briffa, Joanne Folder, Keren Franks, Rebecca Free, Amanda French, Karen Hind, Fariba Ahmady Jaffari, Yashoda Koirala, Miaw Yng Lim, Anne Rathjen, Lisa Schimanski, Laura Smith, Sandra Thaow and Hirut Weldemichael Seboka.

(22 November 2018)