Minister for Women
Celebrating the Achievements, Contribution of Women to Tasmania
31 March, 2017

Twenty-one women are being honoured today for their achievements and contributions to Tasmania.

Today, I am delighted to officially induct this diverse group of women as well as one women’s organisation onto the Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women at a ceremony in Launceston.

While they come from a range of different backgrounds and from right across the State, what they share is their dedication, hard work and willingness to make a significant contribution to our community.

Many of these inductees have volunteered considerable time and effort to serving their community over many years, helping to achieve some great outcomes from their efforts.

Those inducted today include a pioneer of intercountry adoptions, a woman who made ‘giant steps’ in education, Tasmania’s first female Premier, a scientist and an Olympian.

We believe it is important that we recognise the immense contribution that women make to our society – past and present.

Celebrating these women through the Honour Roll helps to record their stories and achievements, and we hope it inspires generations to come.

Full List of the 2017 Inductees:


  • Frances Bender, of Hobart, businesswoman Huon Aquaculture
  • Margaret Bird, of Lindisfarne – since retiring from teaching Margaret has worked to make communities more age friendly, including as the former chair COTA Tas.
  • Lesley Ann Clementson – Research Group Leader CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere.
  • Female Convicts Research Centre, Hobart – volunteers have rescued the quiet, the survivors, the childless, the well-behaved and the ordinary from historical oblivion.
  • Dr Karla Fenton OAM, of Sandy Bay – a psychiatrist who completed 61 years of medical practice.
  • Lara Giddings, of Rosny, was the first female Premier of Tasmania. In 1996, at the age of 23, Lara was the youngest woman ever elected to the parliament in Australia.
  • Elizabeth Gillam, of Dodges Ferry, was an early pioneer on women’s policy in Tasmania and a strong contributor on social justice issues.
  • Sue Hickey, former Miss Tasmania, businesswoman and second woman Lord Mayor of Hobart.
  • Kerry Hore, of Bellerive – represented Australia in rowing at four Olympic Games.  Won bronze at the Athens Olympics.
  • Aunty Verna Nichols, of Glenorchy, actively supports Tasmanian Aboriginal people and advances reconciliation through art, education and cultural awareness training.
  • Dr Dianne Snowden, of Hobart – first woman to be appointed Chair of the Tasmanian Heritage Council.
  • Kathleen (Betty) White, of Oatlands – a 99-year-old philanthropist who endeavoured to make a difference to her community, both professionally and personally.


  • Cynthia Brock, of West Launceston – one of the first female lay principals in the Catholic School System.
  • Hazel (Elaine) Bushby, of West Launceston – considerable service as a volunteer to many organisation and held leadership positions within the National Council of Women, Launceston.
  • Pat Howard AM, of Newnham – adopted 16 children and pioneered intercountry adoption in Australia.
  • Deidre Triffitt, of Deloraine – instrumental in establishing the Giant Steps program in Tasmania for individuals with autism.


  • Councillor Alwyn Friedersdorff of the Waratah-Wynyard Council has contributed greatly in the areas of community service, training and Local Government
  • Karen Linegar, of Latrobe – first nurse and the second woman president of the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) and was an expert advisor to the International Society for Quality in Healthcare.

Deceased Inductees

  • Imelda Cameron – restaurateur
  • Edna Grant – former Senior Master Special Education at Queechy High School, community volunteer and teacher volunteer with Volunteers for Isolated Students Education.
  • Dr Ljiljana Mujkic – a migrant who embraced the opportunity for a new life, studied, worked a doctor and volunteered for the Migrant Resource Centre, Launceston.
  • Deirdre Flint OAM – former Mayor Central Highlands Council and long serving member of LGAT’s General Management Committee.