Commonwealth Games 2018

Notice of Motion – Parliament of Tasmania

May 2018

Hon Jacquie Petrusma [Minister for Sport and Recreation] to move – That the House notes:-

  • Congratulates all of Tasmania’s athletes and officials who recently represented Australia at the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast;

  • Notes that by having 16 athletes selected across various sports, Tasmania exceeded the previous highest number of athletes at a Commonwealth Games which was 9 at the Melbourne Commonwealth Games in 2006;


  • Celebrates the fact that Tasmanian athletes contributed 10 Gold and 4 Silver medals to the Australian medal tally;


  • Acknowledges that 15 of the 16 athletes Tasmanian athletes received some form of support from the Tasmanian Institute of Sport during their careers and that 10 of Tasmania’s representatives currently hold TIS scholarships;


  • Acknowledges the following athletes:
    • Georgia Baker (cycling), Jake Birtwhistle (triathlon) – 1 Gold, 1 Silver, Amy Cure (cycling) – 2 Gold, Jeremy Edwards (hockey) – 1 Gold, Kaitlyn Fassina (weightlifting) – 1 Silver, Jack Hale (athletics), Danielle McConnell (athletics), Stewart McSweyn (athletics), Eddie Ockdenden (hockey) – 1 Gold, Hamish Peacock (athletics) – 1 Silver, Huw Peaock (athletics), Ariarne Titmus (swimming) – 3 Gold, 1 Silver, Rebecca Van Asch (lawn bowls) – 2 Gold, Sam Walker (para-athletics), Lucas Walker (basketball) – 1 Gold; and Chris Goulding (basketball) – 1 Gold; and


  • Also acknowledges and thanks the dedicated officials and coaches who assisted our athletes in their preparations and performance at the Commonwealth Games.

(2 May 2018)