Jacquie Petrusma, Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Management

Keeping our police officers on the beat in rural and regional communities

8 August 2021

The new Country Police Station Relief Policy has now commenced as part of the Tasmanian Liberal Government’s plan to keep Tasmanians safe.

In the upcoming 2021-22 Budget, the Government will provide funding of $10.6 million over four years to fully fund the Policy which provides a consistent state-wide approach to relieving our officers in regional and remote communities.

We know that Tasmania is one of the safest places to live and our crime rates are reflective of this, and this new Policy will enhance response and service provision for our remote and rural communities.

It will also ensure that there is a consistent statewide approach to relieving our officers in regional and remote communities when they take leave.

Tasmania Police has 25 police stations that are deemed rural or remote including Richmond, Nubeena, Dunalley, Orford, Triabunna, Swansea, Bicheno, Oatlands, Liawenee, Bothwell and Kempton, Maydena, Hamilton, Bushy Park, St Mary’s, Fingal, Dover, Geeveston, Cygnet, Woodbridge, Rosebery, Zeehan, Waratah, Strahan, Alonnah.

Measures like this complement the Government’s strong commitment to boosting our police numbers to the highest number in Tasmania Police’s history, supporting our officers mental health and wellbeing and ensuring they have the resources available to keep our communities safe.