Notice of Motion – Telstra Tasmanian Business Women’s of the Year Awards 2015
Minister for Women, the Hon Jacquie Petrusma MP
27 October, 2015

Madam Speaker, I give notice that on tomorrow I shall move that this House notes that:

    1. The 2015 Telstra Tasmanian Business Women’s Awards were held on Friday 16 October 2015.
    2. The Telstra Tasmanian Business Women’s Awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognise the many Tasmanian Women who are excelling in business and government. This is the twenty first year of the Awards, making it the longest standing national business awards program for women in Australia.
    3. The strength of the finalists and indeed the number of outstanding Tasmanian businesswomen in our state makes the presentation of the 2015 Tasmanian Business Women of the Year Award to Beth Mathison, recognition of the highest quality.
    4. The Award Winners were:

2015 Telstra Tasmanian Business Woman of the Year, Beth Mathison, who also won the Entrepreneur Award.

Government & Academia Award, Jenny Self, the Hutchins School

For Purpose and Social Enterprise Award, Susan Fahey, Women’s Legal Service Tasmania

Private & Corporate Sector Award, Naomi Walsh, Venarchie Contracting

Start-up Award, Karen Burbury, Cataract on Paterson

Young Business Women’s Award, Hanny Allston, Find Your Feet

5.  I congratulate Beth Mathison and all of the Tasmanian Telstra Business Women Award Finalists and Category Winners, and wish them all the very best for the National Finals on 18 November, in Melbourne.