Special Olympics 2018

Notice of Motion – Parliament of Tasmania

July 2018

Hon Jacquie Petrusma [Minister for Sport and Recreation] to move – That the House notes:-

  • Note that the Special Olympics were recently held in Adelaide from 17th April to 22nd April 2018;

  • Also notes that the Special Olympics are held once every four years for athletes with an intellectual disability and draw thousands of competitors from Australia and New Zealand;


  • Acknowledges that Tasmania was well represented with competitors in 5 different sports;


  • Notes that Tasmania has a significant affinity with the Special Olympics having hosted the inaugural event in Launceston in 1986;


  • Congratulates the following athletes from Tasmania on their selection and representation in Adelaide;
  1. Allan Bakes, Ashlee Stanwix, Daniel Jospeh Thomson, Gabrielle Turley, Kirsten Harvey, Mitchell Leonard Huxley, Nicholas Heames, Nicholas James Carter and Ruby Tatnell in basketball
  2. Barry Cross, Briana Roberts, Daniel Leon Marshall, Graeme Cross, Jonathon Goss, Kenneth Cotton and Penny Dishington in bocce
  3. Alan Kilmartin, Craig Hansen, Harley Miller, Michelle Heald, Nicole Michelle Furfaro, Peta-Jo Skurrie and Rodney Ayton in ten-pin bowling
  4. Aran Miller, Craig Davey, Leif Barstad and Philip De Jong in swimming
  5. Connor Sheppard and Jordan Anthony Edwards in tennis;


  • Notes that the Special Olympics Oath is “Let me win, but if I cannot win, let me brave in the attempt”; and


  • Acknowledges that the Special Olympians and their oath are role models in how we should all conduct ourselves in everything we do.

(2 May 2018)